About Kerala Yadava Sabha

This website is an exclusive and comprehensive social network made for the Yadava community of Kerala, keeping in mind to bring the people of Yadava community closer worldwide. Our aim is to provide a platform for sharing information about Kerala Yadavas and discuss common issues. A few words about the Kerala Yadava Sabha (KYS)

In olden days the traditional common function of yadavas, all over india including kerala was that of, herdsmen, cowherds and milk sellers.

However during the period of 1950’s the egalitarian people of Yadava community in Trivandrum felt the need and necessity of having an association for the up liftment of socially and educationally backward people of their community. They realised their dream by forming a TRAVANCORE COCHIN YADAVA ASSOCIATION (TC Yadava Association) in the year 1955, (before the formation of Kerala state). Sri K. Chattanadan MLA of Tenkasi, ( Tenkasi was a part. of Travancore Cochin state at that time ) Sri.P.P. Arumugham, Sri C.S. Kolappan, Sri. V.S Vishwanath, Sri E.Thiraviam and Sri T.K.Balakrishna Konar were the people behind that. Sri .P.P. Arumugham was the president, Sri. C.S. Kolappan was the secretary Sri.V.S Vishwanath was the treasurer.

In the year 1973 a registered organisation under the title KERALA YADAVA SABHA with registration number S.No:29/1973 was formed as state central committee. A mammoth grand conference of KYS was conducted in 1973-74 at Institution of Engineers hall Trivandrum. It was inaugurated by then Central Agricultural Minister Sri. Rao Bheerendarsingh under the leader ship of Sri. T.K.Balakrishna Konar as the president and Sri C.S Kolappan as secretary.

In the year 1980 at Kasaragod Sri.T.K Balakrishna konar inaugurated “YADAVA SABHA – Kannur” ( Presently known as Akila Kerala Yadav Sabha ) for the comfort and convenient functioning of north Kerala Yadavas.The first general body was conducted magnificently at Kanhangad on 5/10/80. The meeting unanimously declared that, all yadava children should be enrolled as “Yadava”in their school records.

Yadava communities are distributed throughout india in different states in different names. In the same way in kerala, the different sub communities of Yadava are Konar, Pillai, Karayalar, Kola-aya (Kolayars), Ayar, Mayar, Maniyani and Erummakkar etc. The districts Trivandrum, Kollam, Kochi, Trichur and Palakkad are dominated with Konar faction of people. Pillai faction concentrates in Trivandrum and Kollam dist. Karayalar is much available in Tenkasi ( Tamil Nadu). Kolayar ,Ayar, Mayar, Maniyani are famous in Kannur ,Calicut and Kasargod ( in olden days Kolathnadu and Thulunad) in North Kerala. The Erumakkar faction is in Wayanad district. Ayar(Ahir) is also a common surname for yadavas throughout india.

The Kerala Yadava History shows, 1975 to 1985 the sabha activities were very strong. A welfare committee known as " YADAVA EDUCATION AND WELFARE COMMITTEE AND MARRIAGE BUREAU “ was functioning at that time. Scholarships were distributed for financially weaker students of KYS to support their education. Similarly a marriage Bureau was functioning for the members who register in the sabha. Sri V.S.Hariharan was the Convener of that committee. The other central executive committee members were Sri Devarajan pillai ( President) Sri T.K.Balakrishna konar (General Secretary) Sri K. Vellappan (Treasurer).

A bimonthly magazine was published namely “YADAVA VARTHA PATHRIKA” later in the name of “KERALA YADAVA”. The editorial board members were Sri T.K.Balakrishna konar(Chief Editor), Sri K. Devarajan pillai and Gopinatha Das (Editors), and Sri N.Somanathan (Co-ordinator). Sabha activities and functioning became slightly weak for a few years after 2000. But in 2011 a new generation of yadavas rose up and rejuvenated the Sabha. Sri C.S.Sreenivasan, Sri Vijayan pillai, Sri A.Krishnankutty, Sri A.Padbhanabhan with a total of 20 office bearers lead the KYS state central committee. In 2014 the secretary post was handed over to Sri. T.B Jayaprakash . Later In 2016 a new committee formed with Sri A.Krishnankutty as President Sri. T.B. Jayaprakash as secretary and Sri Thankam A Rajan as Treasurer. Till now 2019 the committee is continuing with the same leadership. In order to strengthen and expand sabha activities, the bylaw was modified in 2018 with the approval of general body increasing the strength of office bearers to twenty five

In the history of KYS the year 2018 is to be engraved in golden letters as it succeeded in constructing its own head office building “KERALA YADAV BHAVAN ( KYB )” at palayam Trivandrum. The building was constructed in the land area of 2.66 cents donated generously by Sri S. Viswanathan (late) and his family. (Sivaram Electricals, Trivandrum). The building was constructed in a very short time with the wholehearted support and enthusiasm of all members of Kerala Yadava Sabha. The “Team state central committee members 2017-18” in the leadership of Sri A.Krishnankutty, President, Sri T.B.Jayaprakash, Secretary Sri Thankam A Rajan, Treasurer and Sri. K.Krishna pillai, construction committee convener played a vital role in completing the KYB timely, perfectly and excellently. The KYS history will remember and admire this team always for their efforts.

In respect and tribute to Late Sri S.Viswanathan the building was named “KASI VISWANATHAN MEMORIAL KERALA YADAVA BHAVAN”. The building was inaugurated on first July 2018.

Contributions of maximum Rs two lakhs to a minimum of Rs one thousand was received from its own members for the KYB construction fund. It is worth

mentioning here that the only contribution received out of kerala was from Tamilnadu Yadava Mahasabha under the leadership of Dr.N Gopalakrishnan.

The KYS express their sincere gratitude to all the members massively contributed in this endeavor.

Kerala Yadava Sabha presently has district officers at Kollam, Kochi, Trichur, Palakkad.

The sabha is moving ahead with hale and healthy manner conducting executive committee meetings on first Sunday of every month at headquarters building Kerala Yadava Bhavan. We celebrated Sri Krishna Jayanthi grandly in the same premises.

The sabha with enormous gratitude remembers the efforts put by different office bearers of the central executive committee at time to time from 1955 in bring this institution from an infant KYS to a full-grown KYS of present day. The history of KYS will remember them forever.

This Preface was prepared after verifying available documents and collecting information from sabha veterans by the team Sri. T.B. Jayaprakash, Sri. Gopi.C, Sri. SreedharanRajarethinam and Sri. Sivakumar,M.